Veg News Gets Brutal

I recently bared all (of my ‘fridge) for Veg News Magazine‘s “What’s In Your Fridge?“. It was really hard to decide what to showcase because I love food so much! Local Farmers’ Market greens and berries, Field Roast Apple-Sage Sausage, Purely Decadent Coconut Milk Ice Cream, Dr Cows Cheese, Artisana Cashew Butter… where to begin? Regardless it gave me a really good reason to go grocery shopping (something I rarely have time to do these days). Veg News Food Issue is on shelves right now and also has a feature article on my pals at Dr Cow’s Tree Nut Cheese.

DB appears in Veg News' Sept Food Issue

DB appears in Veg News

9 Responses to Veg News Gets Brutal

  1. Kelly! says:

    1) Look at you, woo! ❤

    2) What the heck, that refrigerator is huge. I’m jealous.

  2. Nikki says:

    I just ordered some Dr. Cow cheese because of your article – I am so excited to get it since I already love cashew cheese. Great article!

  3. jenny says:

    Awesome! I wish I was your roommate!

  4. Pierre says:

    having to share the spotlight with a refrigerator….an outrage.

  5. […] of my sculptures was recently featured in VegNews magazine. My sculptures are glazed and oxidized ceramic pieces that are typically about two-feet tall. I […]

  6. Josh, I have to say – while it was great to see your darling face and adorable pooch, I was pretty disappointed. This is yet another in a long sequence of processed food-filled refrigerators.

    This feature really makes me want to cancel my subscription — the magazine seems more about celebrity, “lifestyle” and product than anything else — I’d love to see more refrigerators that look like mine, because I’m starting to feel like I’m the only vegan who doesn’t subsist on packaged food or food prepared using a ton of
    processed ingredients.

    So, do you usually eat that much packaged food or what? I’m dying to know since you did mention that you saw this as an excuse to go to the grocery store.

    I have some pictures of my freezer and will get some shots of the current state of my refrigerator up as soon as I get my camera unloaded. I might make this a regular feature on my blog.

    (please delete the previous comment due to typo)

  7. Jenn, I am so sorry my choice of vegan foods makes you want to cancel your subscription! Wow… it’s true that you can’t please everyone… I guess this calls for an explanation to the processed-food police?

    Simple answer: This article is not intended for people like you.
    Long answer: I don’t always eat like this, but these products would appeal to non-vegans and people who may be thinking about veganism but afraid to try it. They are stepping stones. I do get most of my produce at the farmers market (which wasn’t mentioned in the article), but I also love coconut-milk ice cream, field roast sausages, Dr-Cows nut cheese, and tempeh – and while I would LOVE to make these things from scratch or hunt down minimally packaged versions of them, go foraging, or live on bulk foods alone, I simply think it’s tactically ineffective if my agenda is to make vegan food look exciting in a way that the mainstream would respond to. If my agenda was to be a puritan, I’d move off to the woods and grow all my own food (which i plan on doing eventually). Unfortunately we live in a culture that values pretty things.

    While I appreciate your zeal concerning packaged foods and your comparison of me to someone who lives in the mid-west (is this an insult?), I don’t have a lot of free time. In addition, I enjoy supporting local businesses like Dr-Cows and Sweet & Sara who make vegan products that are delicious and worthy of my support.

    Your freezer is amazing! I admire it and it is an ideal situation – but don’t kid yourself that you’d convince many people to try veganism by showcasing it. Guess you’re kinda missing the whole point of my blog. I am not here to showcase puritanism.

  8. Robin says:

    that’s harsh. i was impressed by the contents of your refridgerator in vegnews. I even gave this blog a visit because of it. And I did order some Dr. Cow’s cheese, because of it.

  9. MyVeganDay says:

    I looooove field roast apple-sage sausages! I live in Stockton, CA during winter, spring and fall (aka limited vegan processed varieties). I love being able to have them as a treat or just as an easy snack!

    Your blog is very cool. Veganism needs people like you to get the word out there. My facebook group The Vegolution is all about getting veganism/vegetarianism/meatless-ness talked about more so people think it’s less obscure.

    Keep doing what you’re doing! It’s great!

    NBC

Leave a Reply

